Please help support this website by becoming a patron for just $5 per month. Click here for more info.

NARP Info - 06/05/2002

I received the following e-mail from NARP and I thought it should be brought to the attention of all visitors to TrainWeb. I would have just placed a link to this information on the NARP website,, but I could not find this information posted at that website.

Gunn Message to Employees; Approps. Letters Updates

   Date:         Wed, 05 Jun 2002 17:19:49 -0400
   From:         NARP
     To:         NARP

To NARP Members--June 5, 2002:

(1) Today, Amtrak President and CEO David L. Gunn sent the following
message to Amtrak employees:

Dear Amtrak Co-workers:  

The purpose of this letter is to bring you up to date on a serious
financial problem that we face. In order to operate through the
remainder of the fiscal year ending September 30, 2002, Amtrak must
borrow over $200 million, the cash shortfall between our revenue
(including subsidies) and expenses.

Whatever we borrow this fiscal year will be repaid out of next year's
subsidy, assuming we get the $1.2 billion we requested for next
year--$200 million will go to repay our loan for 2002. You should know
that as of today that $1.2 billion has the support of 150 House and 35
Senate members--so progress is being made.

The supplemental appropriation of $55 million, of which you may have
heard, is not directly related to this problem. This money is primarily
for the repair of wrecked and damaged cars.

Securing a bank loan before month's end for the remainder of fiscal
year 2002 is a necessity. We are working on the problem. As of today, we
have not arranged financing.

I also spoke to you recently of an effective management structure. This
week, we will begin the move back to a traditional railroad structure,
which should be in place early in the next fiscal year. We will have an
operating department, a mechanical department, an engineering
department, etc.

One last thought. Guests may be called passengers.

I will keep you posted.


(2) Last Friday, I indicated that this Friday (June 7) is the deadline
for getting more senators to sign a pro-Amtrak letter to Senate
Appropriations leaders. That deadline is likely to be extended by one
week, to Friday, June 14.

(3) Below is the list of 157 House members that signed the letter urging
House appropriations leaders to approve the full $1.975 billion that was
in the Amtrak authorization bill approved by the Subcommittee on
Railroads. (The list totals 158 because it includes Rep. Joe Baca, D-CA,
who sent his own pro-Amtrak letter, apparently because he wanted to get
on the record more quickly.) Thanks for your efforts in support of this
letter, and for any continuing work you can do to get more senators to

--Ross B. Capon
NARP Executive Director

1.      Spencer Bachus (R-AL) 
2.      Marion Berry (D-AR)
3.      Mike Ross (D-AR)
4.      Vic Snyder (D-AR)
5.      Joe Baca (D-CA)
6.      Xavier Becerra (D-CA)
7.      Ken Calvert (R-CA)
8.      Lois Capps (D-CA)
9.      Anna Eshoo (D-CA)
10.     Bob Filner (D-CA)
11.     Michael Honda   (D-CA)  
12.     Steve Horn (R-CA)
13.     Tom Lantos (D-CA)
14.     Barbara Lee (D-CA)
15.     Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
16.     Robert Matsui (D-CA)
17.     Juanita Millender-McDonald (D-CA)
18.     George Miller (D-CA)
19.     Grace Napolitano (D-CA)
20.     Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)
21.     Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)
22.     Hilda L. Solis (D-CA)
23.     Ellen Tauscher (D-CA)           
24.     Diane Watson (D-CA)
25.     Henry Waxman (D-CA)
26.     Mark Udall (D-CO)
27.     Diana DeGette (D-CO)
28.     Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)
29.     Rob Simmons (R-CT)
30.     Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC)
31.     Michael N. Castle (R-DE)
32.     Corrine Brown (D-FL)
33.     Sanford D. Bishop Jr. (D-GA) 
34.     Johnny Isakson (R-GA)
35.     John Lewis (D-GA)
36.     Cynthia McKinney (D-GA)
37.     Rod Blagojevich (D-IL)
38.     Jerry F. Costello (D-IL)
39.     Danny K. Davis (D-IL)
40.     Lane Evans (D-IL)
41.     Luis V. Gutierrez (D-IL)
42.     Timothy V. Johnson (R-IL)
43.     Bill Lipinski (D-IL)
44.     Donald A. Manzullo (R-IL)
45.     David D. Phelps (D-IL)
46.     Julia Carson (D-IN)
47.     Baron Hill (D-IN)
48.     Leonard L. Boswell (D-IA)
49.     James Leach (R-IA)
50.     Jerry Moran (R-KS)
51.     William Jefferson (D-LA)
52.     John E. Baldacci (D-ME)
53.     Tom Allen (D-ME)  
54.     Ben Cardin (D-MD)
55.     Elijah Cummings (D-MD)
56.     Wayne Gilchrest (R-MD)
57.     Connie A. Morella (R-MD) 
58.     Albert Russell Wynn (D-MD)
59.     Mike Capuano (D-MA)
60.     William D. Delahunt (D-MA)
61.     Barney Frank (D-MA)
62.     Stephen Lynch (D-MA)
63.     Martin Meehan (D-MA)
64.     Richard E. Neal (D-MA)
65.     John F. Tierney (D-MA)
66.     James Barcia (D-MI)
67.     David E. Bonior (D-MI) 
68.     John Conyors Jr. (D-MI)
69.     John D. Dingell (D-MI)
70.     Vernon Ehlers (R-MI)              
71.     Dale E. Kildee (D-MI)
72.     Lynn N. Rivers (D-MI)     
73.     Betty McCollum  (D-MN)  
74.     Jim Oberstar (D-MN) 
75.     Chip Pickering (R-MS)  
76.     Ronnie Shows (D-MS)  
77.     William Lacy Clay (D-MO)
78.     Karen McCarthy (D-MO)
79.     Tom Udall (D-NM)
80.     Shelley Berkley (D-NV)
81.     Bob Andrews (D-NJ)
82.     Mike Ferguson (R-NJ)
83.     Rush Holt (D-NJ)
84.     Robert Menendez  (D-NJ) 
85.     Frank Pallone (D-NJ)
86.     Bill Pascrell Jr. (D-NJ)
87.     Donald M. Payne (D-NJ)
88.     Marge Roukema (R-NJ)
89.     Gary L. Ackerman (D-NY)
90.     Sherwood Boehlert (R-NY)         
91.     Joseph Crowley (D-NY)
92.     Eliot L. Engel (D-NY)
93.     Benjamin A. Gilman (R-NY)    
94.     Felix Grucci (R-NY)
95.     Maurice D. Hinchey (D-NY)
96.     Amo Houghton (R-NY)  
97.     Sue Kelly (R-NY)
98.     Peter T. King (R-NY)
99.     John J. LaFalce (D-NY)
100.    John McHugh (R-NY)
101.    Michael R. McNulty (D-NY)    
102.    Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)   
103.    Gregory Meeks (D-NY)
104.    Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)        
105.    Major Owens (D-NY)
106.    Jack Quinn (R-NY)  
107.    Louise McIntosh Slaughter (D-NY)   
108.    Ed Towns (D-NY)
109.    Anthony Weiner (D-NY)                  
110.    Eva M. Clayton (D-NC)
111.    Mike McIntyre (D-NC)
112.    Melvin L. Watts (D-NC)
113.    Bob Etheridge (D-NC)
114.    Earl Pomeroy (D-ND)
115.    Sherrod Brown (D-OH)  
116.    Marcy Kaptur (D-OH)
117.    Steven C. LaTourette (R-OH)
118.    Stephanie Tubbs Jones (D-OH)     
119.    Brad Carson (D-OK)
120.    Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)  
121.    Peter DeFazio (D-OR)
122.    Darlene Hooley (D-OR)
123.    David Wu (D-OR)
124.    Bob Borski (D-PA)
125.    Robert Brady (D-PA)
126.    William J. Coyne (D-PA)
127.    Phil English (R-PA)
128.    Chakah Fattah (D-PA)
129.    James C. Greenwood (R-PA)
130.    Joe Hoeffel (D-PA)
131.    Tim Holden (D-PA)
132.    George W. Gekas (R-PA)
133.    Frank Mascara (D-PA)
134.    Todd R. Platts (R-PA)
135.    Bill Shuster (R-PA)
136.    Curt Weldon (R-PA)
137.    Patrick J. Kennedy (D-RI)
138.    James R. Langevin (D-RI)
139.    Bob Clement (D-TN)
140.    Harold E. Ford (D-TN) 
141.    Martin Frost (D-TX)
142.    Charles A. Gonzalez (D-TX)     
143.    Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)     
144.    Nick Lampson (D-TX)     
145.    Sylvestre Reyes (D-TX)
146.    Max Sandlin (D-TX)
147.    Bernard Sanders (I-VT) 
148.    Rick Boucher (D-VA)   
149.    Jo Ann Davis (R-VA)
150.    Tom Davis (R-VA)
151.    Robert C. Scott (D-VA)
152.    Brian Baird (D-WA)
153.    Jay Inslee (D-WA)
154.    Rick Larsen (D-WA)
155.    James McDermott (D-WA)
156.    Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)
157.    Nick J. Rahall (D-WV)     
158.    Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)

Click below for pages in the directory of TrainWeb sties:
0-9 A B C D E

ad pos61 ad pos63
ad pos62 ad pos64

Please help support this website by becoming a patron for just $5 per month. Click here for more info.